Tip

How to revoke and delete Active Directory user certificates

When you delete a user from active directory 2003, is it possible to configure the system so the user's certificate on the CA will automatically get revoked or deleted as well?

The Active Directory (AD) implementation used with Windows Server 2003 has a feature called, autoenrollment that you can configure to automatically revoke and delete user certificates on the

    Requires Free Membership to View

Certificate Authority (CA).

To set up the autoenrollment feature, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Group Policy Objects (GPO) settings, and select Properties for the object, then click Edit and drill down until you get to "Object Type."

  2. Right click on "Autoenrollment Settings" and go to "Properties."

  3. Check "Enroll Certificates Automatically" and once the box appears, select the two checkboxes underneath it.

  4. Click OK and you're done.

Visit the Microsoft Web site for a more in depth explanation (http://microsoft.com).

The autoenrollment feature should add a little bit of extra system access security. If you choose not to use it, you have to delete all user accounts from the system manually. Also, remember that loose certificates sitting on compromised machines, stolen laptops or other errant equipment, can be exploited by users whose accounts may be gone, but whose ghosts aren't.

This was first published in February 2009

There are Comments. Add yours.

 
TIP: Want to include a code block in your comment? Use <pre> or <code> tags around the desired text. Ex: <code>insert code</code>

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
Sort by: OldestNewest

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

Disclaimer: Our Tips Exchange is a forum for you to share technical advice and expertise with your peers and to learn from other enterprise IT professionals. TechTarget provides the infrastructure to facilitate this sharing of information. However, we cannot guarantee the accuracy or validity of the material submitted. You agree that your use of the Ask The Expert services and your reliance on any questions, answers, information or other materials received through this Web site is at your own risk.